Chapter History

Chapter History

The Denver Area Alumnae chapter received its charter on February 9, 1921, as a result of Iota chapter members wanting to continue the wonderful sisterhood they had begun at Colorado State Teachers College in Greeley, Colorado. The women met in homes, held monthly teas at the Daniels and Fishers Building (now the Clocktower) in downtown Denver, and held larger events at the Cosmopolitan Hotel or Brown Palace in Denver. Just as now, the Tri Sigmas were very involved in community service and philanthropy. In fact, the first National Service Chairs were from the Iota chapter and the Denver Area alumnae chapter.

Chapter members hosted the National Convention in Estes Park, Colorado Springs and in Denver. Our legacy with the national organization is very evident:

Florence Vickers--National Service Chair

Helen Cartwright--National Treasurer, and hostess of the Mabel Lee Walton House

Margaret Freeman Dixon Everett--National President

Elsa Jones--National Collegiate Secretary

We continue to remain an active chapter with monthly meetings and fun events. The chapter has joined with the Tri Sigma Foundation to create a Tri Sigma Child Life Activity Room and is currently fundraising for a $50,000 Endowment fund for Children's Hospital Colorado.

Sigma Sigma Sigma National Sorority annually awards chapters and its members for their outstanding work in many areas. We are proud to have won the following awards from the National Sorority.

Chapter Awards

2017 Awards

Overall Excellence in Programming

Membership Recruitment

Sisterhood Award for Alumnae chapter in a College Town

2016 Awards

Sisterhood Award for Alumnae chapter in a College Town

Membership Recruitment

Triennial Awards for 2013-2016

Alumnae Chapter of the Triennium

Women of Distinction- Jacqueline Goreham

2015 Awards

Alumnae Chapter of the Year

Sisterhood Award for Alumnae chapter in a College Town

2014 Awards

Alumnae Chapter of the Year

Sisterhood Award for Alumnae chapter in a College Town

2013 Awards

Membership Recruitment Award

Individual Award Winners

Regional Alumna Recognition Award

2014 - Michelle Hektor 

2013 - Bobbi Smith 

2011 - Clarissa Crozier 

2008 - Jacqueline Goreham 

1999 - Nancy Branigan 

1997 - Sheryl Dahm 

1996 - Joanne Detary 

1995 - Rose Ann Leavesley 

1994 - Debra Wilcox 

1993 - Russann Hayden 

1991 - Marguerite Behm 

1988 - Stephani Hoch 

1987 - Bobbi Smith 

Emily Gates Alumnae Achievement Award

2017 - Jackie Goreham

2016 - Clarissa Crozier

2014 - Katie Scherping

Steadfast Alumna Award

2016 - Bobbi Smith

2015 - Jean Stuck

2014 - Carolyn Wallisch

2013 - Sheryl Dahm

Women of Distinction

2016 - Jacqueline Goreham

2007 - Marguerite Behm, Pauline Childers, Mary Esther Simmons

2004 - Elsa Jone

1998 - Helen Cartwright, Margaret Everett